Continuing Education Requirements
New York State DOS & CE Requirements Updates for All Licensees
Effective July 1, 2021
Every real estate licensee, including those real estate brokers who had previously claimed an exemption or “grandfathering,” will need to comply with the state’s new Continuing Education requirements.
According to the update, the 22 ½ hours of required continuing education now includes 2 ½ hours of ethical business practices and 1 hour of legal updates in addition to the previously required 3 hours of Fair Housing training and 1 hour of law of agency (2 hours in the first renewal period for new agents).
Here is the complete update from the DOS website.
Recent Legislation revising the Real Estate Property Law with regard to the continuing education requirements for real estate salespersons and brokers was recently adopted.
Below is a summary of the major changes:
- The amendment changes the course requirements for renewal. Specifically, new mandatory hours of education now include: “at least 2.5 hours of instruction pertaining to ethical business practices, at least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to recent legal matters governing the practice of real estate brokers and salespersons in New York which may include statutes, laws, regulations, rules, codes, department of state opinions and decisions, and court decisions.”
- The amendment also REMOVES the 15-year real estate broker continuing education exemption and now requires all brokers who are currently exempted to complete continuing education starting July 1, 2021.
If you have any questions about these requirements, please contact the NYSAR Legal Hotline. The Legal Hotline is available Monday-Friday from 9 AM – 4 PM at 518.436.9727.
Until July 1, 2021, non-exempt (not grandfathered) New York Real Estate licensees are required to successfully complete 22.5 hours of approved Continuing Education within the two-year period immediately preceding license renewal, including:
- Fair Housing – at least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to Fair Housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest of real property
- Agency – at least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to Agency (2 hours for the first renewal cycle)
The Department of State conducts random audits of licensees to verify compliance with the education requirements. The course certificates received upon completion of a course should be maintained by the licensee in the event the individual is audited. Failure to prove completion of the requisite education could result in a fine, suspension, or revocation of a license. To ensure compliance, it is important that licensees understand the required number of hours of education and the time frame within which it must be completed.
** Note: Code of Ethics is a separate requirement.
Code of Ethics is mandated by NAR and required in order to remain a member of GRAR/NYSAR/NAR. It is not a requirement for license renewal with the New York State Department of State. Members must take a minimum of 2.5 hours of Code of Ethics (CE or non-CE) instruction by December 31 of the triennial cycle (2021, 2024, 2027, etc.)
Exemptions (until July 1, 2021)
There are two exemptions from the continuing education requirements:
- Grandfathered Broker: Any licensed real estate broker who is engaged full-time in the real estate business and who has been licensed prior to July 1, 2008 for at least 15 consecutive years (combined licensure as a salesperson and a broker) and has maintained continuous licensure (no breaks in licensure for reasons such as late renewal submission).
- The burden of proof of fifteen years of licensure lies with the broker.
- Failure to renew a license on time will be considered a break in service and the “consecutive years” will begin again with the new license date. This means that the licensee will have to resume taking continuing education.
- If licensed after July 1, 2008, the exemption does not apply.
An attorney admitted to the New York State Bar who holds a real estate broker’s license is exempt from real estate CE requirements. This will not change in July 2021.
Home Inspector Continuing Education
Home Inspectors are required to complete 24 hours of approved continuing education within their two-year licence renewal period prior to the expiration date in order to renew their license.
Appraisal Continuing Education
Appraisal licensees are required to take twenty-eight (28) hours of Department of State approved continuing education every two years within their license renewal period. Continuing education credits can be earned via in-classroom instruction or through approved distance learning courses. Additionally, all licensed or certified real estate appraisers must successfully complete the 7 hour Ethics & Standards of Professional Practice program every two years. Appraisers may only receive 7 hours of CE credit for the Ethics & Standards of Professional Practice course once during the 2 year period.
Courses cannot be repeated within the same license period.
In order to obtain a certificate of completion for Continuing Education, appraisers must attend 100% of any course or program that is 2 to 7 hours in length. Courses or programs that are 8 to 20 hours in length require 80% attendance.